7 Tips to Be a Better Writer (With Quotes)

Check out my professional blog: Suki Writes!

Suki Writes

message-image_Royal_1950s_Pink1

I attended a networking function the other night and was asked by a young lady, “My friend wants to be a writer. How can she go about doing that?”

Surprisingly, I had difficulty answering this question. I found myself pondering the same question: How can I go about doing that? What does it take to be a writer?

Last spring I taught a college freshman class on English 110: Writing and Rhetoric. I started off by telling them that they were all writers, they just didn’t know it yet. I even had them stand up on their desks like the Dead Poet’s Society (so cheesy, yes I know). But after practice, practice, practice, a dash of creative dust, and some grueling grammar tests, I stood in amazement at the writers before me.

By the end of the semester, several students came up to me to tell me how much of…

View original post 709 more words

